19 Apr 2000: Ian Jackson

From: swinny@cix.compulink.co.uk (Robert Felton)
Date: Wed, 19 Apr 2000 02:07:54 +0100
Subject: UKVoting Statement - Ian Jackson
Newsgroups: uk.net.news.announce,uk.net.news.management


UKVoting Statement - Ian Jackson

UKVoting has received a high number of complaints about the selection of
Ian Jackson as a votetaker. These complaints can be split into two camps

i)  objections to his proposals posted in uk.net.news.management;
ii) objections to him as a votetaker based on his attitude during the
    discussion of those proposals.

Within the debate which has taken place within uk.net.news.management the  
following points need to be noted:

1) the defence of such heavily criticised proposals has damaged the name
   of UKVoting.
2) UKVoting operates as a independent organisation with the ability to
   control its own procedures, as long as they met the voting guidelines.
   And in the belief of UKVoting this position should be able to continue
   whilst we have the support of the majority of the uk.* community.
3) UKVoting operates as a body of consensus through discussion and debate, 
   with the Co-Ordinator having to make a final decision on the odd
4) The procedures of UKVoting have been established in their current form
   now for at least 18 months, and they work fine 99% of the time. And
   change should be only be implemented following discussion with
   UKVoting, and if felt necessary - the uk.* community.
5) Ian Jackson lost the confidence, respect and support of the majority of
   the uk.* community, Committee members , other votetakers, and finally
   the UKVoting Co-Ordinator.

Following a lengthy and detailed discussion on the UKVoting mailing list 
and within UNNM, and as UKVoting Co-Ordinator, I have decided that Ian 
Jackson can no longer continue as a member of UKVoting.

Therefore UKVoting currently stands at the following volunteers:

Rob Felton - Co-Ordinator

Rob Irvine - Deputy Co-Ordinator
Malcolm Mladenovic - Assistant Deputy Co-Ordinator

Chris M. Dickson
Jon Ribbens - UKVoting Mailing List Master & Webmaster
Brian Jones
Barry Salter
Alan Ford
Mark Goodge
Richard Ashton
Molly Mockford


Swinny - Rob Felton
Co-Ordinator, UKVoting (mailto:ukvoting@ukvoting.org.uk)

Version: 2.6.3i
Charset: noconv


You can also see the raw article.
Back ot the UKVoting homepage