01 Oct 2001: Amend the UK Usenet Committee document (Newsadmin Seats)

From: Malcolm Mladenovic <m.mladenovic@ukvoting.org.uk>
Date: Mon, 01 Oct 2001 21:32:43 +0100
Subject: Result: Amend the UK Usenet Committee document (Newsadmin Seats): proposal passes
Newsgroups: uk.net.news.announce,uk.net.news.config,uk.net.news.management


Amend the UK Usenet Committee document (Newsadmin Seats)

Summary: Proposal passes - Yes: 36  No: 15  Abstain: 4

There were 21 more 'yes' votes than 'no' votes, and a majority of 12 is
required for the proposal to pass.


Voting closed 23:59:59 BST on Fri, 14th Sep, 2001.

  Primary Votetaker: Malcolm Mladenovic <m.mladenovic@ukvoting.org.uk>
Secondary Votetaker: Alex Holden <admin-unc@alex-holden.org.uk>

          Proponent: Peter Smyth <psmyth@ukf.net>

uk.net.news.announce, uk.net.news.config, uk.net.news.management


1.  Particulars of the Vote
- ---------------------------

                    Name                          E-mail address      Vote

         Alan Ford                 alan.sks.whirlnet.co.uk   ABSTAIN
      Glenys Pople              gkp.bna.howfen.demon.co.uk   ABSTAIN
       James Coupe                james.atje.zephyr.org.uk   ABSTAIN
        Tony Evans                tony.sic.darkstorm.co.uk   ABSTAIN

     Andrew Gierth        andrew.erlenstar.spl.demon.co.uk        NO  
   Charles Lindsey                chl.clw.cs.wor.man.ac.uk        NO
    Charles Bryant    comnews.vote.ch.vrc.chch.demon.co.uk        NO
       Dave Sparks  Dave.Sparks.sisyphus.dfesb.demon.co.uk        NO
    Graham Drabble          graham.drabble.soi.lineone.net        NO
       Ian Jackson     ijackson.bnt.chiark.greenend.org.uk        NO
      Justa Lurker               jlurker.bigfoot.giewh.com        NO
       Peter Parry                  peter.wpp.ltd.sdopi.uk        NO
  Pekka P. Pirinen           ppp.edrai.pirinen.demon.co.uk        NO
   Richard Clayton              richard.rlh.highwayman.com        NO
     Robbie Irvine                  robbie.lssp.arrakis.nu        NO
  Colin Rosenstiel               rosenstiel.ripd.cix.co.uk        NO
               {R}               {R}.vote.semolina.hda.org        NO
             T Lee                      tfl.secv.psp.co.uk        NO  
      Barry Salter        ukvotes.bmff.salterg.demon.co.uk        NO

        Iain Bowen              alaric.cgvvv.alaric.org.uk       YES
    Alex D. Baxter        alex-news.pfl.oenone.demon.co.uk       YES
    Andrew Hartley    andy.jwsna.eastupham.freeserve.co.uk       YES
      Andy Mabbett         andy.bejno.pigsonthewing.org.uk       YES
     Barry Dorrans                   barryd.nlw.bann.co.uk       YES
            bigegg          bigegg.asvlh.hardboiled.org.uk       YES
   Chris Bannister                    cj.dkd.moodog.org.uk       YES
     Denis Mcmahon         denis.pickaxe.eiine.demon.co.uk       YES
   rachel walmsley            flossie.sykt.sheepish.org.uk       YES
      Geoff Berrow                 geoff.efuap.hten.org.uk       YES
  Charles F Hankel            hankel.freedombird.hbpna.net       YES  
     Dave Fawthrop        hyphen.fbtlg.hyphenologist.co.uk       YES
          J M Kemp                 James.etkbu.none.org.uk       YES
             Jezza     jezza.khob.hotwells.freeserve.co.uk       YES
  Jonathan Wheeler                J.F.hod.Wheeler.rl.ac.uk       YES
       Jack Howard           jhoward.firstnet.net.fbncn.uk       YES
       Jon Thomson    jon.thomson2273.imsr.freeserve.co.uk       YES
       Steve Firth                 mail.pseyk.malloc.co.uk       YES
  Michael Farthing           mf.tkyyt.cyclades.demon.co.uk       YES
      Mike Fleming                  mike.iip.tauzero.co.uk       YES
    Molly Mockford       molly.mockfords.wttss.clara.co.uk       YES
       David Mahon          nadmin_dmahon.bepi.amigo.co.uk       YES
    Neil Fernandez              ncf.borve.lkla.demon.co.uk       YES
             Batch       {$news$}.bifs.rubious.demon.co.uk       YES  
     Nick Leverton                   nick.leverton.mln.org       YES
      Nigel Ashton      nigel.nigelashton.icne.demon.co.uk       YES
         Owen Rees               owenrees.waitrose.shp.com       YES
    Peter Gradwell                peter.gradwell.mgekp.com       YES
      Peter J Ross         peter.j.ross.btinternet.llp.com       YES
    Peter Sullivan          peter.eks.manorcon.demon.co.uk       YES
     Philip Powell           philip.btst.blencathra.org.uk       YES
       philip page        philip.j.page.atn.btinternet.com       YES
       Peter Smyth                      psmyth.psh.ukf.net       YES
               Six         six.lnf.screamingeagle.1to1.org       YES
                Wm       tcnw41.tarrcity.smmgn.demon.co.uk       YES
     Eddie Bernard    usenet.ebernard.greatxscape.meek.net       YES


2.  Votetaker's Comments
- ------------------------

No bounced acks.  One person voted 4 times (all the same way).

One ballot paper was received after the vote closed.  Examination of
the headers indicated that the e-mail arrived on the voter's ISP
some time after the deadline and so that vote had to be discarded.  


3.  Voting and Appeal Guidelines
- --------------------------------

This vote was conducted by a neutral third party member of UKVoting.
UKVoting is a group of independent votetakers who count votes on
behalf of the uk.* hierarchy and other 3rd parties.

The rules under which votes for the uk.* hierarchy are taken are
posted regularly to uk.net.news.announce or can be found at the 
following URL:

The UKVoting web pages can be found at <http://www.ukvoting.org.uk/>

There is a five day discussion period after these results are posted
to uk.net.news.announce.

Allegations of irregularity should be sent to control@usenet.org.uk.


- ------------  

Change the Membership section to read as follows


There shall be two classes of member of the Committee.

1) Permanent Members

   The UK Network is topologically a star network, with a few central sites
   on an "inner ring" who feed news to their own branches, and with
   relatively little cross-communication between branches away from the
   root. Inevitably, those few central sites are in a position to control
   what goes out to their own branches, and are therefore classified as
   Major Service Providers.

   The Committee shall include, as Permanent Members, one representative of
   each Major Service Provider, up to a maximum of 4 permanent members.

2) Open Members

   An Open Member is any person who is a reader of uk.* articles. There
   shall be 9 Open Members.

At each annual Committee Election, all open members who have served a  
full 3 year term shall retire from the Committee. If at this point there 
are fewer than three vacant seats then the longest serving member(s) will
retire (ties to be broken by lot) as needed to create three vacant seats.
Retiring members shall be eligible for re-election.

Any newsadmin members already on the Committee will be allowed to
serve out their term as open members but no new newsadmins members
will be elected as from the date this proposal is adopted.

Also to remove all reference to the newsadmin class from the rest of the

Change the last sentence of the 'Co-opting Committee Members' section to read

The committee has the authority to co-opt members for the Open class.

Change subsection 1) of the 'Elections' section to read

1) Each year during September, Control shall post (on behalf of UKVoting) to
   uk.net.news.announce a call for nominations for the Open class of members.
   Nominations shall remain open for three weeks, and each candidate must

and delete the phrase 'in any class' from the first paragraph of subsection
2) of the 'Elections' section.

and delete the last paragraph of subsection 4) of the 'Elections' section.   


- --
Malcolm Mladenovic, <m.mladenovic@ukvoting.org.uk>

Version: PGP 6.5.1i
Charset: noconv


You can also see the raw article.
Back ot the UKVoting homepage